Diplomate in Clinical Sexology

The Diplomate in Clinical Sexology represents the highest level of expertise and excellence for Clinical Sexologists. IBOSP certified sexologists are leaders in the area of clinical sexuality work and hold employment positions in a range of practice settings. Globally recognized and demanded, the DCS demonstrates that you have exceptional experience, education, competency and dedication to the clinical sexuality profession.

Who seeks the DCS?

Clinical Sexologists who focus primarily on the mental, medical, and sexual well-being of individuals and couples.

They apply social work theory and methods to the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of psychosocial dysfunction, disability, or impairment, including emotional and mental disorders Clinical social work services consist of assessment; diagnosis; treatment, including psychotherapy and counseling; client-centered advocacy; consultation; and evaluation.

Why apply for the DCS?

If you’re a highly experienced clinical sexologist looking to highlight your professional accomplishments, stand
out to employers and maximize your earning potential, the DCS is appropriate for you. The DCS
highlights professional commitment and expertise in the application of clinical sexuality and continued
professional development for clinical sexologists.

What are the basic eligibility requirements?

  • A current IBOSP membership in good standing
  • A Master’s or Doctorate degree in a mental health or medical field from an accredited graduate program.
  • Documentation of 4,500 hours and three years of additional clinical sexuality work experience that has occurred within the past 10 years.
  • Thirty (30) contact hours of post-degree continuing professional education or professional development activity specific to clinical sexuality work, obtained within the past two years.
  • Have two satisfactory colleague references; completed by a Licensed Mental health or Medical professional.
  • Current state clinical work license
  • Adherence to the IBOSP Code of Ethics, the IBOSP Standards for Continuing Professional Education, and the IBOSP Standards for the Practice of Clinical Sexology.